Contact ITSO staff

Please direct all general enquiries to:

Dr Stuart Ryder
Head of International Telescopes Support
Australian Astronomical Observatory
105 Delhi Rd
North Ryde, NSW 2113

Tel: +61 (0)2 9372 4843

(Please use this e-mail address in preference to individual ITSO staff addresses, as this account is checked on a daily basis by ITSO staff, and you are more likely to get a prompt response.)

Joint ITSO / Macquarie University Lecturer in Astronomy

Dr Devika Kamath
MQAAAstro Centre
Level 2
Macquarie University
NSW 2109

Tel: +61 (0)2 9850-8978


Honorary Associates

In order to supplement the expertise of the full-time staff, ITSO is fortunate to be able to call upon the services of Honorary Associates.

Dr Elaina Hyde
Dr Caroline Foster
Dr Richard McDermid
Dr Francesco Di Mille
Dr Christopher Onken
Dr Simon O'Toole

Gemini Helpdesk

Technical queries about new Gemini proposals, or problems with your allocated Gemini programs, should normally be submitted via the Gemini Helpdesk. This will automatically forward your query to the appropriate ITSO staff member, and if they cannot answer your question, it will be passed on to someone at the observatory who can.

Magellan, Keck, Subaru, or Blanco Enquiries

There is no Helpdesk facility for Magellan, Keck, Subaru, or Blanco. For all enquiries regarding instrumentation, please e-mail

ESO Enquiries

For enquiries regarding submitting ESO proposals, please send an e-mail to For enquiries regarding ESO Service mode observations, please e-mail the ESO User Support Department Helpdesk at